Our History

1973 1973
1974 1974
1975 1975
1976 1976
1978 1978
1979 1979
1980 1980
1982 1982
1983 1983
1985 1985
1989 1989
1991 1991
1992 1992
1994 1994
1996 1996
1996 1996
1998 1998
2000 2000
2001 2001
2002 2002
2007 2007
2009 2009
2013 2013
2015 2015
2017 2017

1973

Launch of Breakthrough Movement.

1974

Launch of “Breakthrough Magazine”.

1975

Inauguration of Counselling Centre.

1976

Launch of the radio program “Breakthrough Moment” in Commercial Radio HK II.

1978

Inauguration of Audio-Visual Centre.

1979

Launch of “Breakthrough Junior Magazine”.

1980

Launch publication of “Breakthrough Book Series”.

1982

Opening of the first Breakthrough Gallery in Ngau Tau Kok.

1983

Launch of “Rooted in Hong Kong” Movement, producing the multi-image production titled “Roots—Dedicated to Today’s Hong Kong Chinese” and toured around North America.

1985

Acquisition of Breakthrough Centre in Jordan.

1989

Premiere TV series “Generation 21” was shown on ATV. The production was honoured in the “New York International Film & TV Festival”.

1991

TV series “Pathfinding”, “The Quest for the Metropolis” and “Eastern Europe – the Morning After” were shown on ATV.

1992

Set up “Breakthrough Overseas Missions” in Canada.

1994

Launch of “Understanding the Adolescent Project”.

1996

Grand Opening of the Breakthrough Youth Village.

1996

The 1st “Leadership Academy” (LA).

1998

Holding “Listening to Youth’s Dream” card design contest and a “10 Listening Tips Competition” in Shanghai and Hong Kong.

2000

Launch of “Uzone21.com” youth portal.

2001

Launch of “U+” Magazine.

2002

The 1st “Inner Challenge”.

2007

Launch of “Igniting Youth Dream” campaign to promote “Dreams, make a difference”.

2009

Launch of “Breakazine!”.

2013

Breakthrough celebrated its 40th anniversary.

2015

“Breakthrough New Leadership Succession Ceremony”.

2017

Launch of “Breakthrough Cultural Space” at Breakthrough Centre.

In the 1970s, a group of graduates from tertiary institutions, both local and returning from overseas, found that the city was suffering from a state of excessive materialism and increasing crimes. They prayed to God for an outlet for the new generation. At that moment, a patient took rest in Hong Kong at God’s will and cried for the city and its young inhabitants. She started to ask God, "What can I do for this city?" This person was the founder of Breakthrough, Miss Josephine So Yan Pui. Breakthrough Movement was launched in 1973. In January of the following year, Breakthrough Magazine with the mission of counteracting the contemporary mainstream culture was launched. In 1975, the counseling centre began operation and became the fore-runner of the provision of professional counseling to youngsters in Hong Kong. In the same year, Breakthrough started its audio-visual work in broadcasting the programme "Breakthrough on Air" on Commercial Radio Channel 2. A year later, "Breakthrough Moment" was launched. In 1978, the Audio-Visual Centre was established. Breakthrough firmly believes that writing can influence young people tremendously. Accordingly, the publications of the magazine Junior Magazine and the first Breakthrough Book Series were launched in 1979.
Stepping into the 80s, the rootless culture of Hong Kong was revealed in the migration tides. Breakthrough re-iterated its belief and brought Breakthrough Centre in 1985 as a manifestation of its will of having Hong Kong as its home-base. Our "basing in Hong Kong, searching for our root in China and anchoring our root in eternity" campaign affirmed the three-fold cultural status of the local youngsters. This campaign, including a roadshow with a multimedia video named "Root – Dedicated to This Generation of Chinese in Hong Kong" in North America. The first TV production "Generation 21" was presented in Asian TV in 1989, winning a merit award in the New York International Movie and TV Festival in the subsequent year.
Having the mission of "developing the leaders for the 21st century" during the 1990s, Breakthrough obtained the grant of a piece of land in Shatin from the government to build Breakthrough Youth Village in 1993. Several projects were also planned, including the pilot scheme "Understanding Adolescents Project" in 1994, the first "Leadership Academy" (LA) in 1996 and "Wholistic Education for Leadership Learning" (WELL) in 1997. In 1992, Breakthrough Overseas Missions (BOM) was set up in Canada for maintaining contact with Canada’s supporters and people who cared for youth work. In 1998, "Listening to Youth’s Dream" card design contest and "10 Listening Tips Competition" were held in Shanghai and Hong Kong.

Culture changes continuously with time. Entering to the 21st century, the uprising of internet and new media is an enormous trend which cannot be put aside. In 1999, the Breakthrough Magazine was suspended, paving way for the youth website Uzone21.com and the youth magazine U+ which launched in 2000.

Breakthrough puts efforts in building youth community and pays attention to the development of youth workers. In 2002, youth membership for Breakthrough Square was launched. The "School-based Counseling Training Project" was organized in Shanghai in collaboration with the Youth Foundation and East China Normal University in the subsequent year. In 2004, Breakthrough entered a partnership with 8 local churches and for the "Making of Christian Youth Worker".

In response to Liberal Studies becoming the core subject in secondary schools, Breakthrough promotes the spirit of learning Liberal Studies to respond to the confusing values in this era, cultivate youths to think independently and analytically.

This in turn enables them to live as responsible, rational and compassionate citizens in a diversified community. In 2005, Breakthrough obtained a sponsorship from the Quality Education Fund and started the 2-year programme "Creative Approach to Learning Liberal Studies" (CALLS). In 2009, the "Breakazine!" was launched to inspire the youngsters to reflect upon life from different perspectives. It also serves as a platform for the youngsters to express their voice and other works of liberal education were launched.

The mobile phone has led to more popular application of the internet, and enabled people to enter the web-world at any moment. The world vision and value system of the new generation has been greatly influenced by this turbulent global culture. In 2010, Breakthrough started its publication of electronic books and developed a new experience of reading and information collection. The functional capabilities of Uzone21.com were also strengthened to pool together the young web-users. In 2011, vBreak was launched simultaneously with the tailor-made Apps to make use of the video channel to collect the creative short video recordings from all over the world and covering different web cultures, thereby widening the vision of the young audience. In the same year, Breakthrough pioneered the first Human Library in Hong Kong, which allows youngsters to contact face to face with other people, to listen to them, to put aside their biased views and to establish a culture of dialogue with mutual respect. In the days to come, Breakthrough will continue to utilize the mobile platform and the social network to walk with the youth.

突破的歷史

1973 1973
1974 1974
1975 1975
1976 1976
1978 1978
1979 1979
1980 1980
1982 1982
1983 1983
1985 1985
1989 1989
1991 1991
1992 1992
1994 1994
1996 1996
1996 1996
1998 1998
2000 2000
2001 2001
2002 2002
2007 2007
2009 2009
2013 2013
2015 2015
2017 2017

1973

突破運動開展。

1974

《突破》雜誌創刊。

1975

輔導中心正式成立。

1976

「突破時刻」電台節目於商業二台播放。

1978

影音中心成立。

1979

《突破少年》雜誌創刊。

1980

出版突破叢書。

1982

在牛頭角開設第一間突破書廊。

1983

開展「根」運動,包括製作多元影像《根──獻給這一代香港的中國人》,在北美巡迴放映。

1985

購入位於佐敦的「突破中心」。

1989

在《亞洲電視》播出首套電視製作《亞太新人類》,翌年榮獲紐約國際電影電視節優異獎。

1991

在亞洲電視推出電視製作「創路人」、「尋找大都會」及「再見東歐」。

1992

於加拿大成立「突破海外使團」。

1994

開展「成長的天空」先導計劃。

1996

突破青年村舉行開幕典禮。

1996

舉行第1屆「國際華人青年領袖訓練營」。

1998

於香港及上海舉行「聽聽少年心底夢」心意卡及「十項聆聽要訣」創作比賽。

2000

青少年網站「勇想廿一」(Uzone21.com) 正式啟用。

2001

《U+》創刊。

2002

舉行第1屆「逆旅先鋒-突破全人歷奇籌款活動」。

2007

喚起全城參與「燃夢行動」,宣揚「夢‧改變世界」。

2009

《突破書誌 Breakazine!》創刊。

2013

「突破」踏入40周年 。

2015

舉行「突破‧新里程」接捧典禮。

2017

於突破中心推動「突破文化空間」。

抗衡文化。逆流而上 70年代初,一羣本地及海外回歸的大專畢業生,看到自己的城市陷於物慾橫流、罪案不斷增加的景況,於是向上帝祈求,為這個城市的新一代尋覓出路。 當時,上帝讓一位病人在香港養病,並為這城市和生活在其中的年輕人流淚,她開始求問神:我可以為這個城市做甚麼?這位正是「突破」的始創人蘇恩佩女士。 突破運動於1973年開展,並在翌年1月推出《突破雜誌》,以抗衡文化、逆流而上為使命。1975年成立輔導中心,成為當時為青少年提供專業輔導的先驅。同年,「突破」開始發展影音的工作,在商業二台開始《空中突破》廣播節目,1年後開始《突破時刻》,並在1978年成立影音中心。「突破」一直深信文字對青年人之影響力,於1979年創刊《突破少年》雜誌,並出版了第一輯《突破叢書》。
尋根。植根。扎根 踏入80年代,移民浪潮暴露了香港的無根文化。「突破」重申信念,於1985年購入「突破中心」,表明植根香港的心志,以「植根香港、尋根中國、扎根永恆」的方向確認青少年的三重文化身分。 同時開展「根」運動,包括製作多元影像《根──獻給這一代香港的中國人》,在北美巡迴放映。1989年於《亞洲電視》播出首套電視製作《亞太新人類》,翌年榮獲紐約國際電影電視節優異獎。
塑造21世紀領袖

「突破」於90年代以「塑造廿一世紀領袖」為使命,於1993年獲政府撥地在沙田興建突破青年村,並籌辦多個項目,包括在1994年開展的「成長的天空」先導計劃、1996年舉行的第一屆「國際華人青年領袖訓練營」及1997年的「全人領袖教育計劃」。

1992年於加拿大成立「突破海外使團」,維繫北美關心「突破」青年工作的支持者,並在1998年於香港及上海舉行「聽聽少年心底夢」心意卡及「十項聆聽要訣」創作比賽。

突破框框 建立青少年群體

文化隨着時代不斷更新,而踏進廿一世紀,互聯網和新媒體的興起更是不容忽視的大趨勢。1999年,《突破》雜誌休刊;2000年,青少年網站「勇想廿一」(Uzone21.com) 正式啟用,而青少年雜誌《U+》於翌年創刊。

「突破」致力建立青少年羣體,同時重視青少年導師的培訓。2002年成立「突破框框」青少年會籍,翌年由青年發展基金及華東師範大學在上海委辦「心理素質導師培訓課程」。2004年,與8間本港教會結成伙伴,推出「教會青少年導師培育計劃」,採用嶄新訓練模式。

近年「突破」把握通識教育成為核心教育的機遇,銳意推動通識的學習精神,回應價值混亂的世代;致力培養青少年獨立思考和批評的能力,讓他們生活在一個多元社會中,作一個有情有理有責任感的公民。2005年,「突破」獲優質教育基金贊助,推出為期兩年的「創意通識學習」計劃。2009年,通識書誌《Breakazine!》創刊,啟發青少年以不同角度反思生活,並作為青少年表達呼聲的平台,並開展一系列的通識教育工作。

隨着手機更普及了互聯網的應用,讓人隨時隨地進出這網絡世界,新一代的世界觀和價值觀深深地被這流動世界的文化所塑造。2010年「突破」開始出版電子書,拓闊新一代的閱讀及吸收信息的體驗﹔強化 Uzone21.com 「玻璃樽」網誌的功能,凝聚網上青年社羣﹔2011年推出「突破影像vBreak」及瀏覽播放專用程式(Apps),以錄像頻道網羅世界各地 不同網上生命文化的創意錄像短片,開拓青年視野。同年,首度舉辦全港的第一個「真人圖書館」,讓青年透過面對面的接觸,聆聽別人,放下偏見,建立互相尊重的對話文化。未來的日子,「突破」將繼續藉流動資訊平台及在社交網絡中與青少年同行。